Site Search
Share |

Each year at NYSDRA's Annual Conference held in the fall, prestigious awards are presented honoring the exemplary work based on the criteria below.
If you would like to nominate a person or organization for either or both awards please choose a button:


The Andrew Thomas PeaceBuilder Award was established in 1996 to honor individuals and organizations that have promoted the field of alternative dispute resolution. Selection of recipients is based on promoting the welfare of society as a public official, community volunteer or social service organization in support of a peaceful community, and advocating for peaceful alternative dispute resolution means for resolving conflict. The award also reflects contributions national or international in scope.

Past recipients:
2013 Professor Hal Abramson
2011 Charlie Pillsbury
2010 David Kaczynski
2009 Marvin E. Johnson
2008 Marc Gopin
2007 Louise Diamond
2006 Robert Baruch Bush and Joseph Folger
2005 Arun Gandhi
2004 Gillian Martin Sorenson
2003 Dr. Howard Zehr
2002 John Wallach
2001 The Honorable Ann T. Pfau
2000 Lt. Governor Mary O. Donohue
1999 Andrew Thomas
1998 Center for Dispute Settlement
1997 Dr. Thomas F. Christian
1996 Chief Jake Swamp

The Lawrence Cooke Peace Innovator Award
honors an individual or organization that has provided innovative leadership in the field, based upon a local or NYS state-based initiative. Innovation can be defined as something that has been or is innovative in terms of a new practice in ADR or application of ADR practices in a new area, setting or population. NYSDRA membership is not required. 

Past recipients:
2014 Sherry Walker-Cowart
2013 Roz Magidson
2012 John McCullough
2011 Mark Kkleiman
2010 Mark Collins
2009 Judy Saul
2008 Maria Volpe
2007 Duke Fisher
2006 Michele Kirschbaum and Lourdes Rivera-Putz
2005 Judge Sharon S. Townsend, District Administrative Judge
2005 Judge Janice Rosa, Supreme Court Justice
2004 Justice Doris Ling-Cohan and Justice Fern Fisher
2003 Sandy Mindell and Herbert Israel
2002 Judge Joseph Lauria

New York State Dispute Resolution Association, Inc.
4 Pine West Plaza, Suite 411, Albany, NY 12205
P: (518) 687-2240  |  F: (518) 687-2245